Hot Ingredient: The First Vegan Society Certified Vitamin D3

February 3, 2015 by Marilyn Gemino WellnessEnglish
Vitashine Vitamin D3

Shine your brightest with this hot ingredient: Vitashine D3, an exclusive 100 percent vegan and vegetarian D3 as cholecalciferol, the form of vitamin D that is produced by the body after sun exposure.

As the only vitamin D3 registered with both the Vegan Society and Vegetarian Society, Vitashine offers a potent and active form of vitamin D for the body—naturally, in the way the body produces vitamin D after being exposed to the sun. While common vegetarian vitamin D supplements are vitamin D2 (ergocalciferol)—a derivative of ergosterol—Vitashine is different. Vitashine shines brighter with D3 (cholecalciferol), which the majority of the scientifi c community believes is superior to the vitamin D2 form.

Vitashine is a great vitamin D supplement for everyone, but vegans and vegetarians may be particularly at high risk for vitamin D deficiency, since some of the best sources of vitamin D—other than sunlight—come from animal products, including oily fish, which are not on the menu for most vegetarians and certainly not for vegans.

The importance of vitamin D for radiant health is well known. Vitamin D plays a role in up to 2,000 genes and in every tissue and cell of everyone. However, 75 percent of American teens and adults are vitamin D deficient but now, there’s a vitamin D that’s perfect for them.



Vitashine also shines brighter because it comes from lichens. Lichens, pronounced lahy-kuh nz, are special plant sources—namely, small plant species that live with algae. Vitashine is made from lichens specifically containing vitamin D3—and stability and safety are key to the lichens used in Vitashine.

Proper extraction of the vitamin D-rich oil from lichens is essential, and extraction occurs in a totally light-, heat- and moisture-controlled environment, ensuring optimal freshness. Furthermore, Vitashine is tested to make sure there are exact, pure levels of vitamin D in every batch.

Not only is Vitashine D3 vegan and vegetarian, it is also sugar-, wheat-, gluten- and dairy-free.

So, shine your brightest with Vitashine!

Where Do Most Vitamin D3 Supplements Come From?

Most vitamin D3 supplements come from two animal sources: fi sh oils (from the skin of fatty fish) or sheep lanolin (the waxy substance secreted by the glands in sheep skin). If you’re vegan or vegetarian, then neither of those will work.

Vitashine is different. It comes from plants called lichens, which contain a glowing source of vegan and vegetarian vitamin D3.

mykind Organics Vegan D3 Spray contains Vitashine D3, learn more.

This information is intended for educational and informational purposes only. It should not be used in place of an individual consultation or examination or replace the advice of your health care professional and should not be relied upon to determine diagnosis or course of treatment.

EH Newsletter

Join Our Extraordinary Health™ Newsletter for the latest health news, recipes, fitness and lifestyle tips.